The northern part of Texel is called Eierland. It consists of the polder of the same name and De Cocksdorp. This part of Texel is called Eierland (Egg Country) because in spring, there would be many bird’s eggs for the taking.
Eierland, previously called Eijerland or Eyerland, was part of Vlieland until the 13th century. Between Texel and Vlieland used to be the Anegat sea channel, more or less where De Slufter is now. Through the creation of the Eierlandse Gat sea channel, Eierland became a real independent island. Texel only became connected to Eierland in the 16th century when Anegat silted up and a sand dike was created on this sandbank.
The island of Eierland was hard to get to and consisted mainly of a tall dune with some land around it. The only house on it was Eyerlandse Huis. Built for sailors who had been shipwrecked on the infamous Eyerlandse Gronden.
A vast mud-flat area developed behind the constructed sand dike. In 1835, the area was drained thanks to the efforts of the immensely rich merchant and shipowner from Antwerp Nicolas De Cock. Together with other entrepreneurs, he bought the mud flats off the State. They employed 1,500 labourers and within six months Eierland was diked in.
The settlement was first called Nieuwdorp, but was soon given its current name, in honour of De Cock. Thanks to good management, Eierland became fertile land that was well suited for agriculture. Farmers from all over the Netherlands settled here. The names of various farms are reminders of this.
The new polder is separated from the old land by Ruigendijk, the old seawall around De Koog. Not only is the landscape in Eierland different, the people living ‘achter de Rugediek’, behind the Ruigendijk, are different too, according to the inhabitants of old Texel: free spirits who are closely connected to nature and don’t care much for authority and rules…
Also situated in the Eierlandse polder is Texel Airport. This grass runway came into use in 1937. There used to be a flight between Schiphol and Texel twice daily. In the Second World War, this regular service was ended. The airport is still here and is mostly used for general aviation.
Until 1927, mail for Vlieland was transported via Postweg, which had been built in the new polder. As early as the 17th century, there was a fast mail route from Amsterdam to Texel and Vlieland, because the Amsterdam shipowners needed to be able to communicate quickly with the ships in the roadstead. The ships anchored off Texel got their mail delivered within 10 hours!
Discover Eierland! Check out the accommodation options
De Cocksdorp is the northernmost village on Texel. Surrounded by nature and bordering on Waddendijk. Experience for yourself that everything is different
In the Texel Aviation and War Museum you will find more information about the Georgian Uprising, which made Texel the last battlefield in Europe.
Do you want personal tips for your holiday? Then sign up for the newsletter